General Election 2010: And the winners are ...

Hawaii Independent Staff

Editor’s Note: The latest report published on Wednesday, November 3 at 5:46 a.m. has incumbent Marilyn Lee (D) defeating Shaun Hayato Kawakami (R) (5,578 to 5,561) in House District 38, which represents Mililani and Mililani Mauka. The story has been edited to reflect that.

HONOLULU—At the end of Hawaii’s 2010 General Election, Democrats have taken back the governorship and a seat in Congress. Hawaii decided on a governor-appointed Board of Education. And a lot of legislative seats left behind by those who went after the LG position were filled.

Local Republicans made a statement by putting up some tough challenges throughout the legislative contests, but picked up only six victories, including one win over a Democratic incumbent, and a very slim loss by Shaun Hayato Kawakami (R) to incumbent Marilyn Lee (D) by just 17 votes (5,578 to 5,561) in House District 38, which represents Mililani and Mililani Mauka. Here are the Republican wins in “the ledge”:

* Incumbent Sam Slom (R) defeated Larry Price (D) (11,081 to 7,004) in Senate District 8, which represents Hawaii Kai, Aina Haina, Kahala, and Diamond Head.

* George Fontaine (R) defeated incumbent Joseph Bertram III (D) (3,051 to 2,879) in House District 11, which represents Makena, Wailea, and Kihei on Maui.

* Incumbent Corrine Ching (R) defeated Lynn Vasquez (D) (4,173 to 1,739) in House District 27, which represents Nuuanu, Puunui, Liliha, and Alewa Heights.

* Aaron Ling Johanson (R) defeated Lei Sharsh (D) (3,004 to 2,346) in House District 32, which represents Lower Pearlridge, Aiea, Halawa, Hickam, Pearl Harbor, and Moanalua Gardens. This was the seat of Republican lieutenant governor candidate Lynn Finnegan.

* Incumbent Kymberly Pine (R) defeated Jason Bradshaw (D) (5,175 to 2,453) in House District 43, which represents Ewa Beach, Iroquois Point, and Puuloa.

* Gil Riviere (R) defeated Larry Sagaysay (D) (2,944 to 2,185) in House District 46, which represents Kaena Point, Schofield, Mokuleia, Waialua, Haleiwa, Waimea, Pupukea, Sunset, Kahuku, Kunia Camp, Poamoho, Wheeler, Laie. The seat belonged to Democrat Michael Magaoay.

On Capitol Hill, U.S. Sen. Daniel Inouye (D) remains in his seat by easily defeating his opponents, taking 71.9 percent of the vote. Inouye is President pro tempore of the U.S. Senate, making him third in the line of presidential succession, following the Vice President and the Speaker of the House.

Outgoing State Senate President Colleen Hanabusa (D) defeated Congressional incumbent Charles Djou (R) (84,422 to 74,216), who had earlier defeated Hanabusa in a Democrat-split special election.

Former Hawaii Lt. Gov. Mazie Hirono (D) held onto her seat in Congress by defeating a strong GOP push by John Willoughby (R) (127,864 to 44,547).

The gubernatorial Democratic ticket of Neil Abercrombie and Brian Schatz topped Republicans James “Duke” Aiona and Lynn Finnegan (222,510 to 157,098).

On Kauai, Bernard Carvalho overwhelmingly defeated Diana LaBedz (17,743 to 3,678) to remain the Garden Isle’s mayor.

On Maui, Alan Arakawa defeated incumbent Charmaine Tavares (24,169 to 16,911) to once again become mayor of “the canoe district.”

And a majority of Hawaii residents voted in favor of a constitutional amendment that would allow the governor to appoint the Board of Education. 205,132 voted “yes.” 137,373 voted “no.”

Click here to see the rest of the 2010 General Election Results