Billabong Pipe Masters commences on the arrival of a new swell

Hawaii Independent Staff

HALEIWA—The Billabong Pipe Masters, the third and final jewel of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, will commence tomorrow morning in perfect timing with the arrival of a new swell. Thursday also looks promising for a second consecutive day of competition., official forecasters for the Vans Triple Crown, expect wave face heights of up to 15 feet tomorrow. A more northerly swell direction will likely mean that the action will be focused on Backdoor Pipe.

The Billabong Pipe Masters is the final stop of the 2010 ASP World Tour. In its 40th year, it is the longest running and single most prestigious professional surfing event in the world. It is also the most venerated jewel of the Vans Triple Crown series, boasting a winners list that includes legendary surfers Gerry Lopez (Hawaii), Shaun Tomson (South Africa), Kelly Slater (California), Andy Irons (Hawaii), and Tom Carroll (Australia). 

The complete holding period of the Pipe Masters runs from December 8 to 20, with competition to be held on the three biggest and best days of surf available therein.

Australia’s Joel Parkinson currently leads the Vans Triple Crown ratings—a title he has owned for the past two years. Fellow countryman Taj Burrow is the defending event champion.

Live internet coverage happens every day, starting at 7:45 a.m. with “The Call”—the Triple Crown’s live daily morning show that features all the latest news, highlights and happenings. The series will also be broadcast live on television around Hawaii on Oceanic Time Warner Digital Cable channels 250 and HD1250.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing consists of three men’s and three women’s professional surfing events that are the final stop on the 2010 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Tour. In its 28th year, the Vans Triple Crown is considered the most prestigious title in surfing next to the ASP World Title.

The third jewel of the 2010 Women’s Vans Triple Crown—the Vans Duel for the Jewel—will also be held at Pipeline, featuring Tyler Wright (Australia), Stephanie Gilmore (Australia), Coco Ho (Hawaii), and Alana Blanchard (Hawaii).

Billabong Pipe Masters
Heat Draw, Round 1

Heat 1:
Adam Melling (AUS) vs. Kamalei Alexander (HAW)

Heat 2:
Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Clay Marzo (HAW)

Heat 3:
Kai Otton (AUS) vs. John John Florence (HAW)

Heat 4:
Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Kiron Jabour (HAW)

Heat 5:
Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Ian Walsh (HAW)

Heat 6:
Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Danny Fuller (HAW)

Heat 7:
Travis Logie (ZAF) vs. Jamie O’Brien (HAW)

Heat 8:
Luke Munro (AUS) vs. Shane Dorian (HAW)

Heat 9:
Gabe Kling (USA) vs. Kalani Chapman (HAW)

Heat 10:
Rob Machado (USA) vs. Granger Larsen (HAW)

Heat 11:
Heitor Alves (BRZ) vs. Joel Centeio (HAW)

Heat 12:
Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)